University of Piraeus

Add to Favourites
1 1 1 1 1
Price: 9986 EUR 9986 EUR




The University of Piraeus was founded as a "School of Industrial Studies" in 1938 by the Association of Industrialists and Craftsmen, in accordance with the Law N.5197/1931 and the A.N. 28/1936, in association with the Federation of Public Limited Companies Greece intending to provide economic, legal and technical education to industrial executives.

  • In 1945 it was renamed to "Higher School of Industrial Studies" and its purpose was that of the systematic theoretical and practical training of administrators.
  • In 1949, the organization was complete (law 1245/49).
  • In 1958, it was renamed to Graduate School of Industrial studies of Piraeus. From then on, courses last four years and degrees awarded are equal to those of other universities.
  • Since 1966, the school operates as a public entity.
  • From the academic year 1971-1972, studying at the School provided two paths to select from the second year: Economic Science and Business Administration.
  • The Department of Statistics and Insurance Science was founded during the academic year 1977-1978.
  • With law 1268/82 the University initially operated with one Department. In 1984 (law 43/1984) the school was organized to include three departments: Economic Science, Business Administration and Statistics and Insurance Science.
  • In June 1989, law 377/89 prescribed the renaming of the School to "University of Piraeus", and the creation of three more academic departments, namely: 
    • Banking and Financial Management.
    • Maritime Studies
    • Technology and Production Systems
  • In the academic year 1990-1991, two of the three departments started to operate: 
    • the Department of Banking and Financial Management and
    • the Department of Maritime Studies
  • The Department of Technology and Production Systems was launched in the academic year 1991-1992 and was later (2002) renamed to "Department of Industrial Management and Technology" according to law 113/30-4-2002/ Government Gazette: 95.
  • The Department of Informatics began operating in the academic year 1992-1993.
  • The Department of Technological Education was launched in academic year 1999-2000 and was renamed in 2002 to "Department of Computer Education and Digital Systems" and in 2009 to "Department of Digital Systems".
  • The Department of International and European Studies was launched in the academic year 2000-2001.
  • The Department of Tourism Studies was launched in the academic year 2017-2018.


80, M. Karaoli & A. Dimitriou St., 18534 Piraeus

Comments (0)

There are no comments posted here yet

Leave your comments

* Would you like to clarify the information on this page or would you like to claim your rights to this profile?
  Help improve accuracySuggest an edit   Represent this organization


Universities Greece

The University of Macedonia is a public research u ...
Founded in 1970, University of Ioannina is a non- ...
Established in 1925, Aristotle University of Thes ...
Founded in 1973, Democritus University of Thrace ...


©2023 EDUCOM NET. All Rights Reserved.

If you find an inaccuracy or you have comments on the description of the university or program - please let us know