University of KwaZulu-Natal

Add to Favourites
1 1 1 1 1
401–500 st
THE World University Rankings 2023
QS World University Rankings 2023
370 th
EDUCOM University Rankings 2023
Price: 8352 EUR 8352 EUR
Contact +27 (31) 260 1111




Welcome to one of the largest, oldest and most transformed universities in sub-Saharan Africa – the University of KwaZulu-Natal (UKZN), a teaching and research-led university.

Innovative curricula, dynamic teaching and learning, state-of-the-art laboratories and accredited professional degrees have earned UKZN the reputation as a leading higher education institution on the African continent. The University is a top-ranked state-funded university in South Africa for research productivity. Research activities span the natural, biomedical, humanities and social sciences.

The University has a proud and rich heritage of academic excellence. In 2010, UKZN celebrated 100 years of higher education – a centenary of scholarship, innovation and community engagement. UKZN was formed on 1 January 2004 with the merger of the established University of Durban-Westville and the University of Natal.

Our Vision
To be the Premier University of African Scholarship

Our Mission
A truly South African University that is academically excellent, innovative in research, critically engaged with society and demographically representative, redressing the disadvantages, inequities and imbalances of the past.

The University promotes access to learning that will increase educational and employment opportunities for the historically disadvantaged. It supports transformation and redress and aims to provide an enabling environment for all its students to ensure individual intellectual development, an awareness of social responsibility and sound ethical practice in our diverse society.

The University’s international partnerships in 46 countries provide an opportunity for direct interface and global academic exchange that enhances scholarship and the student experience.

UKZN is a multi-campus residential university located in two cities, Durban and Pietermaritzburg. The University is structured on a College model with four Colleges, including the College of Agriculture, Engineering and Science, College of Health Sciences, College of Humanities and the College of Law and Management Studies. They comprise four to six cognate schools each and offer a comprehensive range of approximately 2000 undergraduate and postgraduate programmes across five campuses: Edgewood, Howard College, Nelson R. Mandela School of Medicine, Pietermaritzburg and Westville.

Specific details

Category of Education Business and Economics, Technology and Engineering, Computer Sciense and IT, Medicine and Healthcare, Life Science and Biology, Social Science, Law, Physical Science, Arts and Humanities, Education, Psychology
Sectors Manufacturing, Construction, Information and communication, Financial and insurance, Professional, scientific and technical activities, Public administration and defence, Education, Human health and social work, Arts, entertainment


South Africa
Private Bag X54001


Comments (0)

There are no comments posted here yet

Leave your comments

* Would you like to clarify the information on this page or would you like to claim your rights to this profile?
  Help improve accuracySuggest an edit   Represent this organization


Universities South Africa

Founded in 2004, North-West University is a non-p ...
Stellenbosch University (SU) is rooted in Africa a ...
Commonly known as “Wits”, the University of the Wi ...
The University of Cape Town (UCT) is a multicultur ...


©2023 EDUCOM NET. All Rights Reserved.

If you find an inaccuracy or you have comments on the description of the university or program - please let us know